1. Areas subject to the entry ban

The Government of Japan decided on August 28, 2020 to update areas subject to the entry ban. These new restrictions will be implemented from 0:00 am on August 30, 2020 (Japan Standard Time (JST)) and remain in place for a period. The current list of restricted regions can be found below. Foreign nationals who have travelled to any of the areas below within 14 days before arriving in Japan are not permitted to land in Japan unless there are special circumstances.
 India, Indonesia, Singapore,Thailand, Korea, China(including Hong Kong and Macau), Taiwan, Nepal, Pakistan, Bangladesh, Philippines, Bhutan, Brunei,Viet Nam, Malaysia, Maldives

 Australia, New Zealand

North America
United States of America,Canada

Latin America and the Caribbean
 Argentine, Antigua and Barbuda, Uruguay, Ecuador, El Salvador, Guyana, Cuba, Guatemala, Grenada, Costa Rica, Colombia, Jamaica, Suriname, Saint Christopher and Nevis, Saint Vincent, Chile, Dominican Republic, Trinidad and Tobago, Dominica, Nicaragua, Haiti, Panama, The Bahamas, Paraguay, Barbados, Brazil, Venezuela, Belize, Peru, Bolivia, Honduras, Mexico

Middle East
 Afghanistan, United Arab Emirates, Israel, Iraq, Iran, Oman, Qatar,Kuwait,Saudi Arabia, Turkey, Bahrain, Palestine, Lebanon

 Iceland, Ireland, Azerbaijan, Albania, Armenia, Andorra, Italy, Ukraine, Uzbekistan, United Kingdom, Estonia, Austria, Netherlands, Kazakhstan, North Macedonia, Cyprus, Greece, Kyrgyz Republic, Croatia, Kosovo, San Marino, Georgia, Switzerland, Sweden, Spain, Slovakia, Slovenia, Serbia, Tajikistan, Czech Republic, Denmark, Germany, Norway, Vatican, Hungary, Finland, France, Bulgaria, Belarus, Belgium, Poland,Bosnia and Herzegovina, Portugal, Malta, Monaco, Moldova, Montenegro, Latvia, Liechtenstein, Lithuania, Romania, Luxembourg, Russia

 Algeria, Republic of Botswana, Egypt, Eswatini, Ethiopia, Cabo Verde, Ghana, Gabon, Cameroon, The Gambia, Guinea, Guinea-Bissau, Kenya, Côte d'Ivoire, Comoros, Republic of Congo, Democratic Republic of the Congo, Sao Tome and Principe, Zambia, Sierra Leone, Djibouti, Zimbabwe, Sudan, Equatorial Guinea, Senegal, Somalia, Central Africa, Tunisia, Nigeria, Namibia, Madagascar, Malawi, Republic of South Africa, South Sudan, Mauritius, Mauritania, Morocco, Libya, Liberia, Rwanda, Lesotho
*Underlined regions are added on August 28, 2020.

Visa applicants are required to submit a completed questionnaire on whether or not they have (or will have) been physically present within any of the areas listed above in the 14 days prior to their arrival to Japan.

2. Strengthened quarantine

Calling upon people arriving from all areas to wait 14 days at a location designated by the quarantine station chief and to refrain from using public transportation.
In additon, conducting PCR tests for arrivals who have visited the countries and regions listed in paragraph 1 above within 14 days prior to their entry into Japan. It should be noted that arrivals who have visited the countries which had been already designated as areas subject to the entry ban within 14 days prior to their entry into Japan also need to undergo PCR tests as they are required now.

It will be applied to the passengers of aircrafts and ships which arrives to Japan after 0:00 am on April 3, 2020 (JST), and be implemented for the time being.

3. Visa restrictions

Please check the section "3. Suspension of visa validity" and "4. Suspension of visa exemption measureson" on Ministry of Foreign Affairs of Japan web page below;
 Border enforcement measures to prevent the spread of novel coronavirus (COVID-19)